2010 Spinetingler Award Nominees and Poll

2010 spinetingler awardsNobody wants to hear me blather on so I’ll just say this quickly. In some of the categories selections were very tough. After some difficult decisions some very good books just barely missed the cut. The mystery & crime field is large and varied and we think that this diverse selection of books represent some of the best that it has to offer.

After the jump you will find the nominees for the 2010 Spinetingler Awards and the poll to vote.

Just a quick note to all voters:

This year we are using a different poll company and set up. You make all of your selections then cast the votes by pressing the “Finish Survey” button at the bottom. Unlike last year you will not have the opportunity to cast votes in some categories then come back later and vote in the others. So make sure your selections are final before pressing the “Finish Survey” button.

As always, if there are questions, concerns or problems let us know.

[Update 3/31 – There are two errors in the poll. The title of Anonymous-9’s short story was truncated and Lesa Holstine’s name was spelled wrong. The error’s are completely my own and I’m sorry. These shouldn’t affect your voting but I at least wanted to point out that we are aware. I have to check and see if it’s possible for me to change the data without it affecting the poll.]

The polls are open until April 30th and the winners will be announced on May 1st.

A big congratulations to all of the nominees. Spread the word and don’t forget to vote!

[Update: 4/1/10: There has been multiple requests for the nominee list to be made available in the body of the post so that it could be referred to after a vote has been cast since the ballot clears. For those who would like to refer back to the list of nominees it is reprinted below.]

The nominees for the New Voice category are:

A Bad Day For Sorry by Sophie Littlefield (D); Balzac of the Badlands by Steve Finbow (D); Dope Thief by Dennis Tafoya (D); The Ghosts of Belfast by Stuart Neville (D); I-5 by Summer Brenner; In Their Blood by Sharon Potts (D); The Lost Sister by Russel D. McLean; Mixed Blood by Roger Smith (D); Ravens by George Dawes Green; The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf (D)

The nominees for the Rising Star category are:

50 Grand by Adrian McKinty; ; Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon; The Devil’s Staircase by Helen Fitzgerald; Finch by Jeff VanderMeer; Last Days by Brian Evenson; Safer by Sean Doolittle

The nominees for the Legend category are:

The Complaints by Ian Rankin; The Midnight Room by Ed Gorman; The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death by Charlie Huston; The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly; Shadow Season by Tom Piccirilli; Tower by Reed Farrel Coleman & Ken Bruen

The nominees for the Best Short Story on the Web category are:

M-N-S (n) murder-necrophilia-suicide by Anonymous 9 from Plots with Guns
Flesh Rule by Frank Bill from Plots with Guns
Blurred Lines by Michael Moreci from A Twist of Noir
Survival Instincts by Sandra Seamans from Pulp Pusher
At Least I felt Something by Sophie Littlefield from The Drowning Machine
My Father’s Son by Alan Griffiths from A Twist of Noir
The Present by Mark Joseph Kiewlak from A Twist Of Noir
Insatiable by Hillary Davidson from Beat to a PulpA Wild and Crazy Night by John Kenyon from Beat to a Pulp
The Tut by Paul D Brazill from Beat to a Pulp

The nominees for the Best Mystery or Crime Comic/Graphic Novel category are:

Back to Brooklyn by Garth Ennis, Jimmy Palmiotti & Mihailo Vukelic from Image; Britten and Brulightly by Hannah Berry from Metropolitan Books; Chew by John Layman & Rob Guillory from Image; Leo Pulp by Claudo Nizzi & Massimo Bonfatti from IDW; Low Moon by Jason from Fantagraphics Books; Noir by Various authors by Dark Horse; Parker: The Hunter by Darwyn Cooke from IDW; Scalped by Jason Aaron & R. M. Guéra from Vertigo; West Coast Blues by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette from Fantagraphic Books; You Have Killed Me by Jamie Rich & Joelle Jones from Oni Press

The nominees for the Best Mystery/Crime Fiction Press, Publisher or Imprint category are:

Bitter Lemon Press; Busted Flush Press; New Pulp Press; Serpent’s Tail; Soho; Switchblade

The nominees for the Special Services to the Industry & Community category are:

The Big Adios; Bookgasm; Crimeculture; Friday’s Forgotten Books; My Little Corner

The nominees for the Best Reviewer category are:

Jen Forbus; Lesa Holstine; The Nerd of Nor; Peter Rozovsky; Cory Wilde

The nominees for the Best Cover category are:

slammer allan guthriemanual of detection jedediah berrypoisonville massimo carlottofinch jeff vandermeeri5 summer brennerinherent vice thomas pynchonlongshot katie kitamuranobody move denis johnsonpeepshow leigh redheadthe hunch seymour shubin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Brian Lindenmuth

Brian is the non-fiction editor of Spinetingler magazine and one of the fiction editors of Snubnose Press. In addition to Spinetingler his work has appeared in Crimespree magazine and at BSC Review, Galleycat and the Mulholland Books website. He also heads the Spinetingler Award committee.

More Posts - Website - Twitter